Residency in Singapore

Postgraduate specialist medical training in Singapore has now transitioned to a Residency system. Training programs are run by the three Sponsoring Institutions (SIs) listed below. The application and matching process is administered by MOH Holdings (MOHH).

Sponsoring Institutions (SI) are groups of hospitals that offer the various Residency training programmes. Presently there are three sponsoring Institutions:


Singapore Health Services
Singapore General Hospital
Changi General Hospital
KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital
Sengkang Health


National University Health System
National University Hospital
Jurong General Hospital
St Luke’s Hospital
Raffles Medical Group


National Healthcare Group
Khoo Teck Puat Hospital
Tan Tock Seng Hospital
​​Institute of Mental Health
National Skin Centre
National Healthcare Group Polyclinics

SMSANZ Residency Open Houses
SMSANZ partners with these three Sponsoring Institutions to organise Residency Open Houses/Career Fairs in Singapore during the summer holidays in January each year (subject to change). This caters to the academic calendar of medical students studying in Australia and New Zealand who are unable to attend the events for local students in Singapore.